Creator(s): L'Abri Fellowship
Extent: 6.04 cubic feet
Administrative History Note:
L’Abri Fellowship was founded in Switzerland in 1955 by Francis and Edith Schaeffer. Starting out quite humbly, the Schaeffers simply opened their Swiss home to those seeking answers to spiritual questions and sought to demonstrate to these visitors the practical aspects of a Christian lifestyle and hospitality. The Schaeffers decided to name their ministry L’Abri, which they took from the French word for “shelter,” as they saw their home and ministry as a shelter for those seeking reprieve from the relentless demands and distractions of life in the modern world of the twentieth century.
As L’Abri grew and attracted increasingly more visitors, many of the Schaeffers' friends and associates began to contribute to the work of the ministry. The organization began to record some of the talks and discussions held at the L’Abri campus, and these recordings were given to the visitors to distribute as a means of spreading the word about the ministry and reaching a larger number of people. The topics of these discussions generally revolved around exegesis of Biblical text, or the practical application of a Christian worldview in the twentieth century. Both Francis and Edith would remain active in the ministry of L’Abri until their deaths in 1984 and 2013 respectively. The ministry of L’Abri Fellowship continues today. In addition to the original campus in Switzerland there are satellite campuses in Australia, Canada, England, Holland, South Korea, and the United States and associated sites in Brazil and South Africa. These locations still operate under the same model that the Schaeffers' began in 1955: offering hospitality and Christian love to those who are seeking spiritual truths and rest from the world.
Scope and Contents:
These tapes are undated, though it may be assumed were compiled over the span of numerous years. Topics of the tapes vary widely in scope, with many being on exegesis of various Biblical texts. Others focus on more cultural/secular topics as they relate to the Christian and other tapes reflect on how a Christian should approach and engage people of other faiths. Many of these talks were given by either Francis or Edith Schaeffer, with the remainder being delivered by other members of the L’Abri ministry organization. A physical Master Listing of all cassette tapes can be found in the Archives and Special Collections.
Conditions Governing Access: Access to portions of this collection are restricted by the donor. Please contact our Archives and Special Collections Staff at email@example.com or 919-761-2329 for more information.
Related Materials: Francis A. Schaeffer papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Processing History: Finding Aid created by Charles Haley, Archives Assistant, October 2018.
Preferred Citation: L'Abri Cassette Tape collection, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC 068
Subjects and Access Points: