Skip to Main Content

Septuagint: Introductions

Introductions to the Septuagint

Invitation to the Septuagint by Karen H. Jobes; Moisés Silva
Call Number: BS744 .J63 2015 & in Ebook.
Septuagint by Jennifer Dines
Call Number: BS744 .D56 2004 & in eBook
The Septuagint in Context by Natalio Fernández Marcos; W. G. E. Watson (Translator)
Call Number: BS38 .F4713 2000
When God Spoke Greek by Timothy Michael Law
Call Number: BS744 .L39 2013
The Septuagint by Greg Lanier; William A. Ross
Call Number: BS744 .L36 2021 & in eBook
Introduction to the Septuagint by Siegfried Kreuzer (Editor); David A. Brenner (Translator); Peter Altmann (Translator)
Call Number: BS744 .I68 2019

Bibliographies

Past Decade in Septuagint Research
A recent article by William A. Ross entitled "The Past Decade in Septuagint Research," an excellent and thorough bibliography of recent works in Septuagint studies.

For a more thorough bibliography from 2012–2022, see William A. Ross' blog.

Bibliography of the Septuagint/Bibliographie de la Septante, 1970-1993 by Cécile Dogniez
Call Number: BS744 .D64 1995 & in Ebook.
Classified Bibliography of the Septuagint by Sebastian Brock (Editor); Fritsch (Editor); Jellicoe (Editor)
Call Number: Z7772.A1 B7 1 & in Ebook.

Handbooks and Companions

Note that these handbooks and companions will feature articles and essays dealing with a range of topics.

T&T Clark Handbook of Septuagint Research by William A. Ross (Editor); W. Edward Glenny (Editor)
Call Number: BS744 .T264 2021 & in eBook
The Oxford Handbook of The Septuagint by Alison Salvesen (Editor), Timothy Michael Law (Editor)
The T and T Clark Companion to the Septuagint by James K. Aitken
Call Number: BS744 .T26 2015
A Book-by-Book Guide to Septuagint Vocabulary by William A. Ross; Gregory R. Lanier
Call Number: PA863 .L36 2019

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics by Georgios K. Giannakis
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992 v. 1-6
The Dictionary of the Bible and Ancient Media by Tom Thatcher (Editor); Chris Keith (Editor)
Call Number: BS440 .D535 2017

Last Updated: Dec 17, 2024 3:50 PM
URL: https://library.sebts.edu/c.php?g=877218
Print Page

Subjects: Biblical Languages