ResearchGuides: BTI-5100.A. Hermeneutics: Step 2: Structure

Structure of the Text

Establish the Best Textual Base Possible

Use the original languages if you can. Compare Various versions and translations (NASV; HCSB; ESV; NKJV; NLT; NIV). Utilize good exegetical commentaries.

Investigate the Text Linguistically

Make a lexical (definitional) study of crucial words. Research the passage for key words, phrases, and ideas.Track the verbs! Cross Reference.

Consider and Identify the Genre and Context of the Passage

What is the literary type (history, poetry, prophetic, apocalyptic)? What literary devices are used? Is there any indication for the life situation from which the material came?

Analyze the Structure of the Passage

Determine if the material constitutes a literary unity. Is there a logical sequence of ideas present? Isolate the basic themes or emphases. Outline the text you are studying. Use the outline as the framework for your teaching.

Original Languages for English Speakers

The New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by James Strong
Call Number: Ref BS425 .S8
Strong's Concordance lists every occurance of a word in English alond with its scripture reference. One of Strong's most useful features is the numbers it assigns to every usage of an English word. These numbers reference either a Hebrew, Aramaic, or Greek word. Some resources below place a Strong's number by each entry allowing the non-biblical language reader access to the same information as one who can read the languages.
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by F. Brown; S. Driver; C. Briggs
Call Number: Ref PJ4833 .G4 2001
A Hebrew and Aramaic lexicon that makes use of Strong's Numbers
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by Ernst Jenni (Editor); Claus Westermann (Editor); Mark E. Biddle (Translator)
Call Number: Ref BS440 .T4813 1997 v. 1-3
A Hebrew lexicon that gives a detailed description of theologically significant Hebrew words in the Old Testament. They are ordered by Strong's numbers and provide references to other dictionaries that will help the non-Hebrew trained student access these materials.
Thayer's Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by Joseph Thayer
Call Number: Ref PA881 .G8 & in Ebook
A Greek lexicon that makes use of Strong's numbers. Helpful for non-Greek language readers.
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology by Colin Brown (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS2397 .N48 1986 & in Ebook
A theological dictionary that is organized by English words. It gives all the Greek words that the English entry is used to translate. It gives in-depth articles on words that are considered theologically significant.

Original Languages

The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by F. Brown; S. Driver; C. Briggs
Call Number: PJ4833 .G4 2001
he standard in Hebrew lexicography, Brown-Driver-Briggs is a lexicon for every Hebrew word used in the TaNaK (Hebrew Old Testament) organized by roots. This lexicon also includes a biblical Aramaic lexicon separate from the Hebrew lexicon.
A Bilingual Dictionary of the Hebrew and Aramaic Old Testament by Koehler (Editor); Walter Baumgartner (Editor)
Call Number: PJ4833 .K62 1998
A lexicon that offers a strictly alphabetical ordering of Hebrew words making it easier to use for beginning Hebrew students. It also includes an Aramaic lexicon ordered in the same way.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by G. Johannes Botterweck (Editor)
Call Number: PJ4835.G3 B613 1974 & in Ebook
A theological dictionary that provides detailed articles on the use of important Hebrew terms focusing on the use in the TaNaK, but also including useful information from the use of Hebrew words in Qumran, and their translation in the Septuagint.
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by Ernst Jenni (Editor)
Call Number: BS440 .T4813 1997
A specialized lexicon that attempts to present a supplement to the other Hebrew lexicons (BDB, HALOT) with particular attention to semantics and different methodology of words that are theologically relevant to Old Testament Theology.
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by Frederick William Danker (Editor); Walter Bauer
Call Number: Ref PA881 .B38 2000
The standard New Testament Greek Lexicon.
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by Johannes P. Louw (Editor); Eugene A. Nida (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PA881 .G68 1989 v.1-2
A Greek-English Lexicon arranged by semantic domains. It organizes words based upon their meaning. Therefore, words that have similar meaning will be grouped together.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by Gerhard Kittel (Editor); Gerhard Friedrich (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PA881 .K513 v. 1-10
A theological dictionary that provides detailed articles on the use of important Greek terms used in the New Testament.
Theological Lexicon of the New Testament by Ceslas Spicq; James D. Ernest (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: Ref PA875 .S613 1994 v. 1-3
A theological dictionary that provides detailed articles on theologically significant Greek words found in the New Testament.

Compare Various Versions and Translations

Bible Gateway
A good resource for comparing every possible translation you can think of.
Blue Letter Bible
A good resource to compare Bible versions, but also to access helpful tools to analyze the text.
Laparola
Read the Greek New Testament with the most important textual variants, and do word studies.