Skip to main content

Searching SEBTS Databases: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Introduction

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses., the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and the database of record for graduate research.

What you will be able to do and search in ProQuest:

  • Conduct a detailed search millions of dissertations and theses in the field of humanities and social sciences from around the world since 1861 to the present.
  • Download dissertations and theses in PDF format.
  • Read many of these dissertations and theses online in full text format.

Searching Proquest

In this section we highlight some of the unique searches available in ProQuest. Due to the unique nature of the ProQuest database, many of these searches are not repeatable in other databases. 

Keyword Searches - Performing a keyword search in ProQuest is different than most SEBTS databases. Normally a keyword search will look for the search terms in the title, the author's name, and in any other publication material. However, in ProQuest a keyword search functions more like a Subject search in our other databases. If you wish to perform a keyword search in ProQuest choose the "anywhere" option.

Institution Searches - Performing an Institution search allows you to search all dissertations uploaded to ProQuest from a particular university, seminary, or college. If you are a PhD student working on your prospectus, this search option allows you to see the requirements for a dissertation at your own institution. Additionally, if you are a prospective PhD student you can search dissertations at your own institution or another institution to see the quality of their work. 

Advisor Searches - Performing an Advisor search allows you to search all dissertations supervised by a particular professor. If you are interested in studying with this professor ProQuest enables you to see the kind of dissertations that they are supervising. Additionally, if you do not know the title of a dissertation but know the name of the major professor who supervised the dissertation, this search option will enable you to find the dissertation. 

Committee Member Searches - Performing a Committee Member search allows you to see the dissertations for which a professor served as a second or outside reader. If you are looking for a second or outside reader for your dissertation this search option enables you to see if this professor would be interested in your topic. 

Inter-Library Loan for Dissertations and Theses - Dissertations and theses cannot be inter-library loaned through ProQuest. If you find a dissertation on ProQuest that is not full text you will need to inter-library loan the dissertation through worldcat.org.

Proquest Account Features

In this section we explain how to create and use a personal account with Proquest.

Creating an Account - In order to create an account in ProQuest, go to the top right of the screen on the home page and click the profile icon. Click the "Sign into my Research" tab. On the right side of the page there is an option that says, "Create a My Research Account." Fill out the information and click "Create Account" at the bottom right corner. 

Saving a Document - In order to save a document(s), conduct an Advanced Search. On the Results page select the items that you would like to save by clicking the small box next to the number of the item. Above the list of results, on the right side of the page, click the "Save" option. Then click the dropdown box "Save to my Research." Select the folder that you would like to save the document(s) to and click "Save" at the bottom of the prompt box. 

Saving Searches - In order to save a search, select the "Save search/alert" option under the search browser after conducting a search. You will then name the search and click "Save" at the bottom right of the prompt box. In order to access this search later, click the profile icon at the top right of the home page and select the dropdown box "Saved searches." Under each saved search there is an option called "Searched for databases." Click this link to continue searching with your saved search. 

Creating Alerts - The alert system exists to email you information about new resources added to your saved search. In order to do this, click the "Saved search/alert" option under the search browser once you have conducted a search. Fill out the information in the prompt box (eg., how often you want to receive alerts).

Creating RSS Feeds - Setting up an RSS feed allows you to receive information about brand new publications pertaining to your search or publications recently added to ProQuest pertaining to your search irrespective of their date. In order to do this, click the "Saved search/alert" option under the search browser once you have conducted a search. Select the "Create RSS feed" option and fill out the prompt box.