Archives Reference Policies and Procedures: Step 1: Register Researcher

Researchers must register each time they visit the Archives via the electronic Researcher Registration form found on the Archives Research Room LibGuide. Patrons may access this LibGuide via the Research Room laptop. The link to this LibGuide is also bookmarked on the chrome web browser.

While the researcher is completing the Archives Research Registration form, you may leave the researcher in the Archives Research Room and retrieve the requested item(s) only under the following conditions:

1. Lock and close the inner door leading into the Main Archives Room (unless the requested materials are in the Main Archives Room).
2. Make sure the Francis A. Schaeffer collection computer access station is logged out.
3. There are no other materials belonging to the Archives & Special Collections present and unattended in the Archives Research Room.

If a researcher is interested in the Francis A. Schaeffer collection, contact Jonathan Lawler (ex. 2220) or Drew Dickerson (ex. 2254) before proceeding. The stipulations regarding this collection are outlined at the bottom of this page.

The following stipulations govern the use of Archives and Special Collections in the Library at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. While our collections are here to be used, these policies help us protect and preserve research materials for future generations.

1. Researchers must register each time they visit the Archives.
2. No food (including chewing gum, mints, etc.) or beverages are permitted.
3. Children under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an adult and supervised at all times. No pets (with exception of service animals) are permitted.
4. Archival materials are in closed stacks and will be retrieved for patrons by Archives staff. Patrons are not permitted in archival storage areas without the permission of the Archivist or Assistant Archivist.
5. Archival resources may not be removed from the research room by patrons for any reason.
6. Marking on any archival resources is prohibited. Only pencils or computers are allowed for taking notes. Pencils will be provided if needed.
7. Use care in handling fragile documents and books. Ask for staff assistance if necessary.
8. Researchers are expected to respect and maintain the existing order of archival resources.
9. Researchers are responsible for conforming to copyright, right-to-privacy, libel, slander, and any other applicable federal and state statutes and agree to indemnify and hold harmless Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, its officers, employees, and agents for any and all claims resulting from the use of the materials.
10. Permission to publish any archival resources in its entirety or substantial portion thereof should be requested in writing prior to publication. Proper citation or credit line should read: "Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC." See our Publication and Commercial Use Policy for details. 
11. Archival resources (excluding restricted materials) may be duplicated for personal research use if Archives staff determine that the media (paper, photograph, audiotape, CD, etc.) is stable and duplication will not result in damage to the original or information loss. See Duplication Policy for details.
12. Briefcases and bags must be stored beside the research room reference desk and are subject to inspection by the staff when researchers leave the Archives.
13. Failure to comply with any of these rules may result in the denial of access to Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary library and archives holdings in the future.

Security for the unique (and sometimes fiscally valuable or confidential) resources entrusted to us by donors and the institution of Southeastern is a significant issue. These policies help us protect and preserve research materials for future generations.

Key Access and Use

• Access to the archives key will be limited to essential personnel and can only be granted by the Library Director in consultation with the Archivist and Digital Collections Manager and the Assistant Archivist and Digitization Specialist.
• Archives key holders should never grant unsupervised use of their keys to those who do not have access to the archives key.
• Archives key holders are responsible for any use or misuse of the key they check-out.

Archives Storage Area Access and Use

• Archival storage areas are closed to the public and should only be regularly used and occupied by archives staff.
• Non-archives staff with key access should only check-out and use the archives key for the purposes listed below. All other uses of the archives key by non-archives staff will be considered breaches of security policy.
  • Emergency situations when the need for access is immediate and essential and archives staff are not available to assist. 
  • Special projects for which the key holder has received special permission from the Assistant Archivist and Digitization Specialist, the Archivist and Digital Collections Manager, or Library Director.
• Non-archives staff who make an emergency entrance to the archives must inform an Archivist by email or phone voicemail message.
• Special access to archives storage areas for those without access to the archives key may only be granted at the discretion of the Assistant Archivist and Digitization Specialist, Archivist and Digital Collections Manager, or Library Director.
• Anyone in Archives storage areas without archives key access must be accompanied at all times by an archives staff member (whenever one is available) or archives key holder designated by the Library Director (in emergency situations when an archives staff member is not available).
• Doors providing direct access to archival storage areas should never be left open or unlocked when out of the clear and continuous sight line of an archives key holder and should never be left open or unlocked for extended periods of time.
• All breaches of these policies, observed or reported, must be communicated to an Archivist immediately.
• The archives staff must monitor storage areas during regular archive hours and ensure that all policies are followed.

       Breaches of the Archives Security Policies above will result in the removal of access to the archives key.

Archives Security Check Procedure

• Library staff responsible for closing the library should check the security of all doors leading into archival storage areas by turning the knob to ensure the door is locked, pushing the door to ensure it is completely closed, and visually checking to make sure all windows in doors are secure.
• The following procedures should be followed in response to any security breaches that are observed or reported outside of normal archival hours. 
  • If there are signs of forced entry and/or you have reason to suspect an unauthorized person is in the impacted archival storage area,
    • Call Campus Security immediately and report the problem.
    • Notify other staff working in the library at the time and ensure the area of the security breach is monitored until Campus Security arrives.
    • Call the Archivist and Digital Collections Manager or Assistant Archivist and Digitization Specialist to report the security breach.
      • Jonathan Lawler (484-225-9791)
      • Drew Dickerson (479-747-1877)
  • If there are no signs of forced entry and you are certain no unauthorized persons are in the impacted archival storage area,
    • Secure the area immediately by closing and locking the door.
    • Call the Archivist and Digital Collections Manager or Assistant Archivist and Digitization Specialist to report the security breach.
      • Jonathan Lawler (484-225-9791)
      • Drew Dickerson (479-747-1877)